The workshop’s philosophy:

1 / Manufacturing methodology:

The creation of custom-made objects is always a unique and enriching experience. It is the exchange between the know-how of the master craftsman and the customer’s expectations that gives rise to a unique project. We make it a point of honor to provide quality and rigorous work while maintaining a dialogue with our customers. The manufacturing process can be very complex depending on the objects and their constraints. This is why each customer benefits from personalized guidance favoring dialogue and allowing the active participation of the customer in the creation of his/her project.

We establish the technical and esthetic constraints of your project, refine your expectations and define the budget in full transparency directly with you! Whether it is an original (unique piece) production or small & medium series, we will adapt our production mode to you.

We are aware of our ecological impact and make a point of honor to use FSC and PEFC certified wood in all our projects, and favor local subcontractors & suppliers.

2/ Non-professional & professional training methodology:

The non-professional / professional training provided in our workshop is organized around the transmission of know-how and adaptation to the professional project of each candidate. Drawing, modeling and sculpture will be adapted to each apprentice and linked to their professional and/or personal project in order to respond and prepare them for the realities of the profession. We set up a skills acquisition follow-up allowing the candidate to evaluate his or her progress throughout the training. You will find more information on “Professional training methods“.

3/ Leisure training methodology:

The leisure training aims to introduce participants to woodworking in all its forms, in a casual and friendly environment. Each training module allows the production of objects encouraging the integration of technical and theoretical skills. However, the modules are designed as part of a continuous training process with skill acquisition follow-ups, to guide the participant in his/her training path. Leisure training courses are designed to allow the participant to be an actor of his/her training. You will find more information on the courses offered in the “Training Catalog“.

4/ Restoration philosophy:

Any intervention on a cultural property, whatever it is, is an act grave that present a risk for the understanding and survival of the art object. Whether this intervention is visible or not, it has repercussions on the characteristics of the object. Thus, restoration objectives must be clearly defined before any intervention. Then, the owner and conservator must carry out in-depth reflections about the achievement of these objectives while respecting the fundamental principles of the business ethics of art restoration.

Objectives to reach:

– Ensure the sustainability of the object.
– Allow the integrity of the art object by making again understandable the meaning of the art object, that was partially or totally lost due to successive alterations over time.
– Respect the Aesthetic and cultural integrity of the art object.
– Allow the accessibility through consultations or exhibitions.

3 Fundamental principles:

  1. The physical and chemical stability of the materials used in the restoration.
  2. The Reversibility: It should be possible to remove any intervention on the art object and to return to the original state without risk.
  3. The visibility of interventions: Any modification of the original state of the art object must be discernible, without interfering with its legibility or misleading on its real state.

Ethique de notre atelier:

1 / Méthodologie de fabrication :

La création d’objets « sur mesure » est toujours une expérience unique et enrichissante. C’est l’échange entre le savoir-faire du maître artisan et les attentes du client qui donne naissance à un projet unique. Nous mettons un point d’honneur à fournir un travail de qualité et rigoureux tout en maintenant un dialogue avec notre clientèle. Le processus de fabrication peut devenir très complexe en fonction des objets et des contraintes. C’est pour cela que chaque client bénéficie d’un accompagnement personnalisé favorisant le dialogue et permettant une participation active du client à la création de son projet.

Nous établissons les contraintes techniques et esthétiques, affinons vos attentes et définissons le budget en toute transparence & en étroite collaboration avec vous ! Que ce soit de la production originale (unique) ou des petites & moyennes séries, nous adapterons notre mode de production à vos projets.

Conscient de notre impact écologique, nous mettons un point d’honneur à utiliser des bois certifiés FSC et le PEFC dans l’intégralité de nos projets, et à favoriser les fournisseurs et collaborateurs locaux.

2/ Méthodologie de formation spécifique & formation professionnelle:

La formation professionnelle / spécifique dispensée dans notre atelier s’organise autour de la transmission du savoir-faire et de l’adaptation au projet professionnel de chaque candidat. Dessin, modelage et sculpture seront adaptés à chaque apprentis et liés à leur projet professionnel et/ou personnel afin de répondre et de les préparer aux réalités du métier. Nous mettons en place un suivi d’acquisition de compétences permettant au candidat d’évaluer sa progression tout au long de la formation. Vous trouverez plus d’informations sur «  Modalité de formations professionnelle ».

 

3/ Méthodologie de formation loisir :

La formation loisir a pour vocation à éveiller les participants au travail du bois sous toutes ses formes, le tout dans un cadre informel et convivial. Chaque module de formation permet la réalisation d’objets encourageant l’intégration de compétences pratiques et théoriques. Toutefois les modules sont conçus dans le cadre d’une formation continue, avec suivi d’acquisition des compétences, pour orienter le participant dans sa démarche de formation. Les formations loisir sont étudiées pour permettre au participant d’être acteur de sa formation. Vous trouverez plus d’informations sur les formations proposées dans le « Catalogue de formation ».

4/ Méthodologie de restauration:

Toute intervention sur un bien culturel , quel qu’il soit, est un acte grave où se jouent la compréhension et la survie de l’oeuvre. Que l’intervention soit visible ou non, elle a des répercussions sur les caractéristiques de l’oeuvre. Le résultat à atteindre doit donc être clairement défini avant toute action. Pour cela, le propriétaire du bien et le restaurateur doivent entamer une réflexion sur les objectifs à atteindre tout en respectant les principes fondamentaux de la déontologie de la restauration d’art :

Les Objectifs :

Assurer la pérennité de l’objet.
– Permettre la lisibilité en rendant à nouveau compréhensible le sens porté par l’objet devenu partiellement ou totalement inaccessible à cause des transformations subies au cours du temps..
– Respecter l’intégrité esthétique et le message culturel de l’oeuvre.
– Permettre l’accessibilité par consultation ou exposition.

Les 3 principes fondamentaux:

  1. La stabilité physique et chimique des matériaux employés.
  2. La réversibilité: toute intervention doit être réversible pour permettre de retrouver l’état initial de l’oeuvre, sans la mettre en danger.
  3. La visibilité des interventions : toute modification de l’état original du bien doit être discernable, sans gêner sa lisibilité ni abuser sur son état réel.