Art foundry discovery

Art foundry “the Cyclops”:

L’atelier Lionel Fernandes make use of their services for the realization of ornamental bronzes or for the restoration of art objects. it is my great pleasure to introduce this art foundry.

What is a foundry of art? it allows the creation of art ornamental bronze, sculptures or art objects, by molding the metal. The created objects are diverse and varied: jewels, sculptures, door hardware and locks, lamps, ornamental bronze for fine furniture…etc. Five specialties are involved in the art foundry: mold, bronze smelt, chiseling, patina, and basing. Realization of sculptural work results from a close collaboration between the sculptor and every specialist in the foundry.

Fonderie les clyclopes / Mr Nicolas Durand & Mr Frédéric Michel
Art foundry the Cyclops / Mr Nicolas Durand & Mr Frédéric Michel

Supplemental information:

The bronze is a metal alloy composed of copper (85%), tin (12%) and lead (3%). This metal is both moldable and resistant to corrosion.

There are three main techniques of bronze object realization:
– Mold casting: this technique use a mold in stone, plaster or terracotta in order to extract objects with symmetric shape.
– Sand casting: this technique allows to stamp the original item in a mixture of fine sand and clay. The mold so created is dried in a steam room and prepared to receive the molten metal. The mold is then broken to uncover the art piece. This technique only allows to realize a single copy.
– Lost wax casting: This technique is the most common method for the reproduction of objects with complex shapes. In this case, the original model is directly created by the sculptor, in wax. This method allows to create one unique bronze sculpture with a high degree of accuracy.

The art of the founder rely on the good dosage between the different materials and the control of thermal treatments. When the bronze is cooled, the mold is broken to extract the art object. Then, the bronze-smelter deburr the piece to remove the roughness of the surface. The patina allows the interplay of light, shadow and colors. It is elaborated by a technician, with the indications of the sculptor. The application of products on the bronze creates a unique patina that give to the art object its colors, reflections and effects.

Source: INMA / www.fonderiedescyclopes.blogspot.com

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Rencontre avec une fonderie d’art

Fonderie des cyclopes :

L’atelier Lionel Fernandes fait appel à leur service pour la réalisation de bronzes d’ameublement / restauration d’objets d’arts. C’est avec plaisir que nous partageons cette rencontre avec vous.

Qu’est ce qu’une fonderie d’art? Elle permet la création d’objets, de sculptures ou d’œuvres d’art par moulage du métal. Les objets créés sont très variés : bijoux, sculptures, éléments de portes et de serrures, luminaires, pièces pour l’ameublement. Dans une fonderie d’art, cinq personnes sont impliquées dans la fabrication d’un bronze : mouleur, ciseleur, bronzier, patineur et socleur. La réalisation d’une œuvre sculpturale résulte d’une coopération étroite entre le sculpteur et le fondeur.

Fonderie les clyclopes / Mr Nicolas Durand & Mr Frédéric Michel
Fonderie les cyclopes / Mr Nicolas Durand & Mr Frédéric Michel

Un peu plus d’informations …

Le bronze est un alliage de 85% de cuivre, 12% d’étain et 3% de plomb. Ce métal est à la fois malléable et résistant à la corrosion.

Il existe trois grandes techniques de réalisation d’objets en bronze :
– La fonte au moule : l’utilisation d’un moule en pierre, en plâtre ou en terre cuite permet de sortir des objets de formes symétriques en série.
– La fonte au sable : cette technique permet d’imprimer dans un mélange de sable fin et d’argile la pièce originale. Le moule ainsi créé est séché dans une étuve et apprêté à recevoir le bronze en fusion. Le moule est ensuite cassé pour mettre l’œuvre à jour. Cette technique ne permet de réaliser qu’un seul exemplaire.
– La fonte à la cire perdue, la plus courante, permet la reproduction d’objets aux formes complexes. Dans le cas de la fonte à la cire perdue, le sculpteur crée un modèle original. Il le dépose à l’atelier de moulage de la fonderie pour le finaliser et produire le bronze.

L’art du fondeur réside dans le bon dosage des matériaux et dans la maîtrise des traitements thermiques. Lorsque le bronze est coulé et le tout refroidi, le moule est brisé pour en extraire l’œuvre. Le bronzier procède ensuite à l’ébarbage pour ôter les aspérités de la pièce. Cette opération se fait à la lime ou à la scie. On obtient alors une pièce que les fondeurs appellent « brute de fonte ». La patine est l’habillage de lumière. Elle est élaborée par le technicien, sur les indications du sculpteur. L’application de produits sur le bronze crée une patine unique qui donnera à l’objet d’art, ses couleurs, reflets, et effets de matière.

Source: INMA / www.fonderiedescyclopes.blogspot.com

Laisser un commentaire